FOREWORD By Swami Shivapremananda


  1. The Eight Limbs of Yoga

  2. Stories on the main five Yamas or Restraints

  3. The five Niyamas or Observances

  4. Stories on the Lesser Known Yamas and Niyamas (The Laws of Life, or restraints and observances)

  5. The Three Gunas (Attitudes of Mind)

  6. The Chakras (The Seven Main Energy Centres)

  7. Guidance on the Yamas and Niyamas (Explanations about the Laws of Life)

  8. Information about the chakras (Energy Centres)

  9. Appendix


Full Contents

  1. The Eight Limbs of Yoga

    Introduction to the Eight Limbs of Yoga
    1. Yamas, The Restraints
    2. Niyamas, The Observances
    3. Asana, Physical exercise
    4. Pranayama, Breathing exercises
    5. Pratyahara, Sense Withdrawal
    6. Dharana, Concentration
    7. Dhyana, Meditation
    8. Samadhi, Bliss
  2. Arrow Stories on the main five Yamas or Restraints

    1. Satya, Truth
    2. Aparigraha, Non-greed
    3. Asteya, Non-stealing
    4. Ahimsa, Non-violence
    5. Bramacharya, Sexual Self Control
  3. Arrow The five Niyamas or Observances

    1. Saucha, Cleanliness
    2. Santosa, Contentment
    3. Tapas, Discipline
    4. Svadhyaya, Self-study
    5. Isvara Pranidhana, Devotion to God
  4. Arrow Stories on the Lesser Known Yamas and Niyamas

    1. Tolerance, Forgiveness and Understanding
    2. Endurance, Forbearance and Obedience
    3. Compassion and Sympathy
    4. Sincerity and Earnest Endeavour
    5. Penance and Retribution for Wrong-Doing
    6. Faith
    7. Charity and Non-Gossip
    8. Modesty and Simplicity
    9. Prayer and Meditation
    10. Unselfish Action, Self-sacrifice, Help to Others
  5. Arrow The Three Gunas

    Introduction to the Three Gunas
    1. Tamas, Inertia
    2. Rajas, Restless Activity
    3. Sattwa, Blissfulness, Peace
  6. Arrow The Chakras

    Introduction to the Chakras
    1. The Base Chakra
    2. The Sacral Chakra
    3. The Solar Plexus Chakra
    4. The Heart Chakra
    5. The Throat Chakra
    6. The Third Eye Chakra
    7. The Crown Chakra
  7. Arrow Guidance on the Yamas and Niyamas

    1. Guidance on Truth
    2. Guidance on Greed
    3. Guidance on Stealing
    4. Guidance on Non-violence
    5. Guidance on Sexual Self Control
    6. Guidance on Cleanliness
    7. Guidance on Contentment
    8. Guidance on Discipline
    9. Guidance on Self-Study
    10. Guidance on Devotion to God
    11. Guidance on Tolerance, Forgiveness and Understanding
    12. Guidance on Endurance, Forbearance and Obedience
    13. Guidance on Compassion and Sympathy
    14. Guidance on Sincerity and Earnest Endeavour
    15. Guidance on Penance
    16. Guidance on Faith
    17. Guidance on Charity and Non-gossip
    18. Guidance on Modesty and Simplicity
    19. Guidance on Prayer and Meditation
    20. Guidance on Unselfish Action, Self Sacrifice and Help to Others


  8. Arrow Information about the chakras (Energy Centres)

    1. Information (info) about the Base Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)
    2. Information (info) about the Sacral Chakra (Svadhistana Chakra
    3. Information (info) about the Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)
    4. Information (info) about the Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)
    5. Information (info) about the Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra)
    6. Information (info) about the Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)
    7. Information (info) about the Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra)


  9. ArrowAppendix